propecia juvenile hairline

Posts Tagged ‘epic’

Nobody Stands a Chance – 12.19.2010 – Never Sorry [Arrison Kirby, Megan Driscoll, Rachel Jae, Dane Hill, Augustin Bralley & DJ Modifi]

Click to download the tracks:

“Creep” (Radiohead cover)
“Move Her Aside”
“House of Satan”
“Translucent Corpses”

The instrumental tracks border on uplifting, as we continue down the experimental path we carved out in the last session.  The two with lyrics run kind of dark.  I almost thought about calling this session Apocalypse Light but I didn’t want the word “light” to diminish the gravity of “House of Satan.”

Katie is not on this session, as she was still visiting Peru at the time.  However, we were able to rope in contributions from Augustin Brally and DJ Modifi.  We also tackled a new cover song, but you can read all about that stuff below…

“Creep” – Ah.  Radiohead’s classic breakout jam.  It worked pretty well when I recorded it with David Davis.  So we got to talking about it and decided to give it a try in this arrangement.  Dane played bass.  Megan played the omni.  I trashed out my guitar.  Rachel sang, of course.  The beats come to us courtesy of DJ Modifi.  He wasn’t at the session, but he was the composer of those beats.

“Move Her Aside” – This one is well paced.  Punk rock stoner rock or something.

“House of Satan” – A song about the devil having a heavy heart, spilling it to you in the wee hours of the morning, after a night of partying with him.  The lyrics were complete improvisation, yet I think it came out perfect, but for one line.  I won’t say which, but it will be changed on subsequent recordings, most likely.  For the most part, this song sits very heavy.  The creepy theremin is being played by Georgia inhabitant, Augustin Bralley.  He also does a wee bit of knob turning around some of the synth effects.  This sounds like the song you play as the city you are in is burning.

“Translucent Corpses” – This was the pretty much immediate follow up to “House of Satan.”  It really let’s the air back in, thankfully.  I like the idea of translucent corpses following the devil’s moments of…uh…darkness.  This song is like a spaceship out of all that mess.

Megan Driscoll –  flute, omnichord
Dane Hill – drums, bass
Rachel Jae – vocals, auxillary percussion, omnichord
Arrison Kirby – guitar, beats, vocals
Augustin Bralley – theramin, effects
DJ Modifi – beat composition

The Door Between Movements – 12.8.2010 – Never Sorry [Arrison Kirby, Megan Driscoll, Rachel Jae and Dane Hill]

Click to download the tracks:

“Vague Champion”
“Cute Little Echo”

This session is two tracks long and clocks in right around 15 minutes or so, total.  There was certainly more content that night, but the majority of it was spent fleshing out new ideas.  It’s between these two tracks, however, that I feel we crossed some symbolic evolution as a band.  Effectively, we are further crossing that threshold beyond humor and good times into realms of beauty and true emotional contact.

Or whatever.

Despite changes in the players, this session is firmly linked to the yet unreleased session from a week before (the same session the “Automobile” video came from).  Explanation is as follows:

“Vague Champion” – This epic spread is a great example of what I was trying to say about humor and beauty.  It’s well in line with the recent explorations into 90’s gangsta rap.  In fact, that’s a sample in there from Dr. Dre’s “Fuck wit Dre Day (And Everybody’s Celebratin’)”.  (We used to use that sample for a more formal cover of the song back when I played in Flashmob.)  The guitar gets a little disjunctive at times because I was washing out with a looper pedal, but tonally it all holds up and ultimately makes for some sounds that are good for listening into, but difficult to pick apart.  The third and final act of the thing has me playing synth bass.  This was something of a recommendation from Kenny Gilbert of Destroyed by Magnets, and I think he might be on to something.

“Cute Little Echo” – This is a more proper, compact and versed version of a song conceived at the prior session.  I intend to release its inception, but not quite yet.  Katie helped write it but, ironically, did not play on this cleaner version.  I look very much forward to getting her back on the track.  For this one, though, Rachel took over omni duties.   That’s Dane on the bass.  The lyrics are not too terribly different from the lyrics I made up on the spot over the very first rendition of this one.  Having them recorded, I was able to transcribe them.  Initially I was singing to Dane, Rachel and McKenzie Michaels (the resident painter at the studio), none of which were in attendance that night.  To firm up the lyrics and give them more emotional weight, I changed it up to be about only one person, rather than three.  I also stripped out a few less effective parts and refilled them with as much longing as I could muster.  I also changed the name to “Cute Little Echo” from “Cam Cam.”  With or without Katie present, I could not resist introducing this new version, which was otherwise foreign to Dane and Rachel…who are both playing on it.  One final thing to note is that, while singing,  I totally flubbed the lyrics at a crucial point.  I say, “I want you now” somewhere in last third or so.  The correct line is supposed to be “I want you to know.”  My Freudian slip causes that line and the next not to rhyme.  It also takes away from the innocence of the thing.  It’s not supposed to be a song about fucking.

Megan Driscoll –  flute, harmonica, vocals
Dane Hill – drums, bass
Rachel Jae – omnichord, auxillary percussion
Arrison Kirby – guitar, beats, keys, vocals